WWW Wednesday 08/01/2018

Welcome to another WWW Wednesday! This meme is hosted by Taking on a World of Words. To participate, just answer the following three questions:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

img_1384-0

So, let’s begin!

I’m currently reading…

On Burning Mirrors, by Jamie Klinger-Krebs
I received a review copy of this through NetGalley. It’s about a married woman who was having an affair with another woman before her sudden death. In the aftermath, her husband finds out about the affair and struggles to reconcile that with the wife he knew, and her lover is mourning the loss while dealing with her own floundering mental health and struggles with addiction.

The Dinner List, by Rebecca Serle
This is another NetGalley book. If you could choose any five people, living or dead, to join you for one meal, who would you choose? Sabrina answers this question as part of a mental exercise with her college roommate. She never imagined that, years later, she’d show up to her birthday dinner to find the people on her list waiting for her. A blending of magical realism and romance, this is a quick and interesting read.

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, by Rebecca Skloot
Henrietta Lacks was an unsung hero in medical science; her tissue sample and the cells derived from it helped scientists develop many medical advances. HeLa cells are the most commonly used human cells in medical research, and for years, no one knew the name of the woman who provided them. Skloot’s book sought to change that.

I recently finished reading…

Good Me, Bad Me, by Ali Land
This was a thriller about the daughter of a serial killer. A review will be up tomorrow.

Before I Go to Sleep, by S. J. Watson
Another thriller, this one was about a woman with anterograde amnesia, meaning she’s unable to retain new memories. She wakes up each day with no memories of the last twenty years. Read my review here.

The Miseducation of Cameron Post, by Emily M. Danforth
This was a coming of age story about a young lesbian who is sent to conversion camp by her conservative aunt. The movie adaptation comes out this Friday. You can read my review of the book and watch the movie trailer here.

Up next…

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, by Taylor Jenkins Reid
I’ve been meaning to get to this book for ages. I think it was in my “up next” section for last week’s WWW Wednesday as well. I really mean it this time, though! I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book and Taylor Jenkins Reid in general.

Goodbye, Paris, by Anstey Harris
I won this book in a GoodReads giveaway. I plan to try to have a review up on the release date, August 7th.

The Woman in the Window, by A. J. Finn
Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, I got this book through Book of the Month, and I’m super excited to see what all the buzz is about.

Capture2.PNG

You can also follow me TumblrFacebook, or GoodReads!

What are you reading this week? Any thoughts on the books listed in this post?  Please feel free to discuss or share WWW links in the comments!

4 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 08/01/2018”

  1. I’m considering getting the Dinner List as my book of the month, but I’m not decided yet.
    I’m also on the fence about 7 Husbands. I’ve never heard anything negative about it so I’m not sure why.

    I read Henrietta Lacks a few years ago and I liked it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just finished an ARC of The Dinner List. It was worth reading but not really what I was expected. The blurb gave the impression of a cute, light read, but it was pretty emotional and heavy at times.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment